Bend DUI Attorney
Results-Focused Defense Lawyer in Deschutes County, Oregon
DUI, known as DUII, or “driving under the influence of intoxicants,” in Oregon, are common and prosecutors are notoriously aggressive when pursuing a conviction.
If you are charged with DUII in Bend, you may face a loss of your driving privileges, fines, and jail or prison time depending upon the circumstances of your case and any previous convictions.
A drunk driving conviction can have lasting consequences and may make it impossible for you to maintain your employment.
With so much at stake, it’s recommended that you secure legal representation as soon as possible.
At Ward Grover, we take every case seriously.
Our Deschutes County DUI attorneys offer top-quality legal representation with experience for any client charged with DUI or DUII.
Can a Lawyer Really Help With DUI?
It is worth getting a DUI lawyer since those laws are complicated, change constantly, and these cases have unique facts. That being said, having a skilled DUI lawyer can provide a prospective client to handle representation.
The outcome of your DUI case may favor you by having a lawyer.
Our defensive team thoroughly investigates the circumstances leading up to your arrest. Not conducting a breathalyzer test does not mean you are guilty because you failed.
Even if you burp, that can alter the results on that specific test, making it a part of the evidence against you.
That is not entirely reliable evidence.
Also, standard field sobriety tests have proven to be less-than-reliable standards for determining whether someone is drunk.
Our DUI lawyer at Ward Grover challenges all evidence against you and fights for the best possible result on your behalf!
For a FREE consultation regarding a DUI, contact our Bend-city attorneys from Ward Grover or call us at (541) 312-5150.
What are the Penalties for DUI in OR?
In Bend, if you are found to have a blood alcohol content above the legal limit of .08 percent, you may face criminal charges.
Oregon also has mandatory minimum sentencing for DUII charges. This means that if you’re convicted, you will automatically be dealing with a set of penalties that will adversely impact your life.
The penalties for a conviction in Bend for drunk driving include:
- Jail time
- License suspensions
- Ignition interlock device installation
The degree to which these penalties are imposed will depend on the circumstances of your case and the existence of any previous convictions on your record.
In addition to the mandatory penalties upon conviction, you may also be required to perform court-mandated community service or participation in rehabilitation programs in the great city of Bend.
What Happens When You Get Your First DUI?
For a first conviction of DUI in Oregon:
- Minimum fine of $1,000.
- Driver’s license suspension period of 90 days.
Under Oregon law, DUI is a Class A misdemeanor, except when the offender has been convicted of DUI at least three times in 10 years prior to the date of the fourth or subsequent offense.
In that case, the offender commits a Class C felony. Class A misdemeanors are punishable by up to one year in prison, a fine of up to $6,250, or both.
Class C felonies are punishable by up to five years in prison, a fine of up to $125,000, or both.
Can You Get a DUI Removed From Your Record in Oregon?
Unfortunately, according to state law, expungement is not possible and is prohibited from DUI convictions. Even if you can have your case dismissed once you complete a DUII diversion program and live in Oregon, a DUII will permanently stay on your record.
Don’t Let a DUI Conviction Threaten Your Future
Being charged with a DUI can be challenging to deal with. In addition to fines and jail time, a conviction can preclude you from certain types of employment or affect custody and visitation of your children.
Our law firm takes a detail-oriented approach that considers you as a whole person.
Our law firm genuinely want to help our clients, and when you hire one of our criminal defense lawyers to handle your DUI case, you can be sure you’re getting an attorney from Bend, Oregon you can trust.
To speak with an experienced attorney serving Bend, Oregon, call (541) 312-5150 or contact us online. We have FREE consultations and same-day appointments available.
Known in the Community as a Trusted Law Firm
We Provide Personal Attention to Every Client
We Handle Cases at Both State and Federal Levels
Our Team Consists of Criminal Defense Specialists
Our Firm Is Exclusively Focused on Criminal Defense
We Have over 80 Years of Combined Experience
Assault and Harassment Case Dismissed
Assault II x2 (Measure 11); Assault III, Reckless Endangerment x3. Not Guilty Jury Verdict
Assault IV Not Guilty Jury Verdict
Att. Rape I, Sex Abuse I (Measure 11), Sex Abuse III, Assault IV x 2 Not Guilty Jury Verdict
Driving Under the Influence of Intoxicants and Reckless Driving Not Guilty Jury Verdict
Menacing Not Guilty Jury Verdict
Menacing, Unlawful Use of a Weapon, Reckless Endangerment Not Guilty Jury Verdict
Private Indecency, Criminal Mistreatment I x2 (felony) Not Guilty Verdict
Reckless Driving Not Guilty Jury Verdict
Sex Abuse III x4 Not Guilty Jury Verdict